Last Updated on September 19, 2016 by Morris Green
Getting Your License Back After A DWI In North Carolina – From Arrest To Reinstatement
This is the first post in this 5-part series on How To Get Your Drivers License Back After A DWI in North Carolina. In this series, we will outline the step-by-step process that we follow in DWI cases, including out-of-state DWI convictions in North Carolina.
The North Carolina DWI Process, Part 1: License Revocation & Limited Driving Privileges
Being arrested for DWI in North Carolina is no laughing matter. Depending on the severity of your offense, you can face time in prison, have your license revoked and be required to attend substance abuse courses. Here is an overview of what you can expect if you get arrested for a DWI in North Carolina:
Drivers License Revocation
After you are charged with a DWI, your driver’s license will be revoked for 30 days. However, if your blood alcohol level is below .15 at the time of arrest, you may be able to apply for limited driving privileges after 10 days, if:
- You have a valid drivers license;
- You do not have an existing DWI conviction;
- You complete a DWI Assessment administered by an approved DWI agency or facility
When your DWI has been processed, you will have a record on file at the department of motor vehicles (DMV). This record is what is used by both your attorney and the police department to make sure you have completed the necessary requirements for driving privileges.
Court Documents for Limited Driving Privileges After A DWI Charge
You will need the following documents in order to complete your application for limited driving privileges:
- Petition for Limited Driving Privilege
- Substance abuse assessment proof of completion documentation
- Certified copy of a seven-year driving history record
- Valid DL-123 insurance form from your insurance agent
- 3 copies of a fully completed, typed, proposed Limited Driving Privilege form.
After you file the necessary documents with the clerk of court, you will need to appear before the district judge. By working with your attorney and our office, we can make sure you have the completed the appropriate forms and substance abuse assessment in order to get a limited driving privilege after your DWI arrest.
Not a North Carolina Resident?
Even if you are not a North Carolina resident, you are still required to satisfy the North Carolina law for DWI convictions. Once you have met the requirements, your records will be updated with your state’s DMV. Click here for more information on out-of-state DWI’s.
Next week, we will share Part 2 in this series, What To Expect During DWI Assessment & Substance Abuse Courses.
If you or someone you know received a DWI in North Carolina contact us to get professional help. Let us help you get your driving privileges reinstated as quickly as possible.
Absolute Advocacy – CharlottePhone: (704) 274-29781977 J N Pease Place Suite 104Charlotte, NC 28262United States (US)
Fax: (704) 271-1559
Absolute Advocacy – ConcordPhone: (704) 215-40953 Union Street SouthConcord, NC 28025
Suite 210,United States (US)
Fax: (704) 271-1559