Recently Attorney Bill Powers, Managing Partner of Powers McCartan, pllc and Mike Daisley, owner of the Daisley Law Firm, discussed the nuances of the North Carolina DWI law including the difference between equity of the law versus guilt or innocence. The two attorneys remind us that navigating DWI laws can be complicated because the consequences are serious. As DWI assessment and education providers, we often recommend that clients contact qualified area attorneys who can help them with the legal aspects of their DWI case.
Watch, listen and learn why it is important to have a qualified DWI attorney to represent you throughout this process.
Highlights From This Video Regarding North Carolina DWI Arrest
One of the things that stood out for us from this video is how North Carolina handles DWI offenders. Here’s a quick infographic that outlines the 4 main points a DWI attorney will ask if you get arrested for a DWI offense in North Carolina, according to attorney Bill Powers with Powers McCartan, PLLC.
Top 4 Questions For Anyone With A DWI Arrest in North Carolina
At the time of the DWI arrest:
- Have you had a prior DWI within a 7 year period whether in North Carolina or any other state?
- Have you been involved in a wreck or caused serious bodily injury?
- Was there a child under the age of 18 in the vehicle? *
- Was your license revoked due to a previous DWI offense?
*Did you know? If a child is in the car at the time of your DWI arrest, your case escalates to a Level One DWI which mandates 30 days in jail?
Driving while impaired convictions are a serious matter. Work with a qualified attorney to help you understand your rights as well as your responsibilities for upholding the law.